Annular

Coming up on a year in Jordan, I’m starting to finally feel more positive about being here. I didn’t experience the typical culture shock pattern of honeymoon period, slump, and ultimate settling in – I skipped the honeymoon and spent a large part of our first several months in some kind of slump. First it was a disappointed slump, that I didn’t immediately fall in love with Amman the way I’ve experienced with other cities. It gradually morphed into a slump of Constant Feminist Outrage as I fixated on all the ways that I was constrained from just being me, the person, instead of being singled out as a woman.

Since we’ve been back from Tanzania, though, I’ve finally hit that uptick of settling in that I given up on. I’m feeling pretty content to be in Jordan these days – I’ve got some good friends, a killer backyard, and a challenging and fascinating job. I’m typing this with peach juice running down my chin and I’ve learned where to find top-shelf gin (Israel).

I’m just not a Middle East person, I don’t think. This distressed me a bit at first – I’ve always found something about other countries and cultures to embrace, and I’ve spent so many years daydreaming about how wonderful and rewarding my life abroad would be, so I was panicked at the thought that maybe I wasn’t cut out for this lifestyle after all. But I’ve realized that it’s okay to not love a place. In fact, it’s rather satisfying to find myself settling in and finding things to keep me happy despite the knowledge that this isn’t the right part of the world for me.

 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Annular

  1. Kate says:

    I honestly wonder if Jordan is just a “skip the honeymoon phase” kind of place. I remember mentioning that in pre-posting training and everybody laughed and thought I was nuts (even the instructors!)

    I’m much happier with it now (maybe because I’m next door and not in the thick of it), but it was a rough ROUGH road at the beginning.

    Have you thought about where you want to land next? Latin America, I assume?

    • meaghan says:

      It could be, honestly. I think living here is so drastically different from taking a vacation here too – the impressions of visitors are polar opposite to the things you see day to day in Amman.

      Latin America would be dreamy, but we’re open to other options as well – trying to figure out where we can take the dog most easily, and embracing the fact that we’re giant hipsters who need better access to booze and fancy brunch options.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 136 other followers

